Nad Sylvan releases new video for single “The Hawk”

The new Nad Sylvan album, entitled “Spiritus Mundi”, is due for release on April 9th, 2021.

Before the release of his new album “Spiritus Mundi” on April 9th, 2021 Nad Sylvan is happy to be announcing yet another single and accompanying video, this time for “The Hawk”. The song’s lyrics are based on a poem by Nobelprize winning author W. B. Yeats.  The music is based on a primitive guitar/vocal demo by Andrew Laitres, which Nad then developed into the actual song.

Watch the video here:

“Spiritus Mundi” is available as Special Edition CD Digipak (incl. 2 bonus tracks), 180g Gatefold LP Vinyl Edition (incl. the entire album on CD) and as Digital Download. You can pre-order the album here:

“Spiritus Mundi” tracklisting:
1. The Second Coming (7:00)
2. Sailing to Byzantium (6:41)
3. Cap and Bells (4:47)
4. The Realists (2:18)
5. The Stolen Child (4:58)
6. To An Isle In The Water (4:36)
7. The Hawk (4:09)
8. The Witch and The Mermaid (1:57)
9. The Fisherman (5:28)
Bonus Tracks
10. You’ve Got To Find A Way (5:55)
11. To A Child Dancing In The Wind (5:08)

After the conclusion of the successful trilogy of albums following the tales of “The Vampirate” (2015’s Courting the Widow, 2017’s The Bride Said No, and 2019’s The Regal Bastard), vocalist Nad Sylvan was considering a different approach for his next project. A surprise collaboration on his last album would serve as the inspiration for his latest release, Spiritus Mundi.

“After I had finished my trilogy, I thought what should I do now? Well, a couple of years ago, a songwriter by the name of Andrew Laitres asked me if I could sing on a song he was working on. It ended up on my previous album The Regal Bastard as a bonus track called “The Lake Isle of Innisfree.” I was thinking I’d like to work with this guy again to see if we can come up with something together. So, I listened to some of his demos and I thought, why don’t we develop these songs together into proper songs with great arrangements. I suggested this to him and he was in.”

The album centers around the poems coming from Nobel Prize winning William Butler Yeats (1865-1939) and who Sylvan calls ‘one of the finest poets to come out of Ireland.’ The lyrics for “The Lake Isle of Innisfree” that I initially sang on the previous album are also from Yeats, so I just thought why not just use some really fantastic lyrics, so I don’t have to write them this time. (laughs) It was just kind of nice not having to write the lyrics and focus solely on the music.” As for the meanings in the songs, Sylvan prefers to leave those up to interpretation. “Yeats had a lot of double meanings to his poems and I’m yet to find out some of those, but just the sound of the words and the meaning that I could grasp, I thought was absolutely wonderful.”

Support The Prog Report

If you like what we do please support us on Ko-fi


Subscribe to our email list: