Lunatic Soul – Through Shaded Woods (Album Review)

Review of the new Lunatic Soul album Through Shaded Woods

Lunatic Soul, the project from Riverside’s Mariusz Duda, has released its seventh album ‘Through Shaded Woods’. On the new album, Duda continues to explore soundscapes outside of his Riverside home, this time leaving behind the electronic instruments featured heavily on previous Lunatic Soul albums, in favor or a more organic and acoustic approach.  In fact, this release might be the most similar to anything he has created with Riverside.  It is also the first album where he plays all the instruments.  According to the album’s press release Mariusz found his inspiration for the album from his childhood home, an area of Poland known for its forests and lakes, ” I think I have always wanted to create an album steeped in nature and woodlands. These bring to my mind freedom, breathing and a dance ritual of coming back to nature, so I wanted the album to include such ritualistic primal dances, shamanic, Slavic and Viking moods. I wanted to mix it all up and put it all together, making “Through Shaded Woods” the most intense, dynamic and the most danceable album in my career.”

The album opens on the atmospheric “Navvie” which immediately makes present the acoustic and folky nature of this album.  It is also the album’s shortest track.  “The Passage” follows which is brilliantly haunting and dynamic.  Very tribal sounding, the song weaves through interesting acoustic guitar work to very Riverside-esque metal riffs for something entirely unique and captivating. Meanwhile, “Through Shaded Woods” has a cinematic Celtic feel. The album’s longest track “Summoning Dance” is a gorgeous melodic number that highlights Duda’s wonderful voice over slight accompanying orchestration.

This is an album that has a feel of a soundtrack.  It is a unique piece of work and one that any longtime Riverside or Lunatic Soul fan will immediately appreciate. Mariusz Duda is an artist that continues to push himself, exploring different music elements and themes and has brilliantly succeeded on ‘Through Shaded Woods’.

Released on Nov. 13th, 2020 on Kscope Records

1. Navvie (4:03)
2. The Passage (8:57)
3. Through Shaded Woods (5:51)
4. Oblivion (5:03)
5. Summoning Dance (9:52)
6. The Fountain (6:04)

Special Ltd Edition Bonus CD:
1. Vyraj (5:32)
2. Hylophobia (3:20)
3. Transition II (27:45)

Mariusz Duda / vocals, all instruments

Order HERE (

Support The Prog Report

If you like what we do please support us on Ko-fi


Subscribe to our email list: