Lonely Robot share new single “Recalibrating”, first single from forthcoming new studio album ‘A Model Life’

Lonely Robot share new single “Recalibrating”, first single from forthcoming new studio album ‘A Model Life’

Lonely Robot, the project masterminded by vocalist, guitarist & producer John Mitchell, recently announced the release of their fifth studio album ‘A Model Life’ on August 26th, 2022. Today, sees the launch of the albums first single, ‘Recalibrating’. Listen to the track now here:

John comments: “A post apocalyptic breakup…the world you once knew has burned to the ground like Nero’s Rome. The only thing for it is to move forward and reset your mind. To ‘recalibrate’ if you will.”

An album that brims with frustration at the state of things, while tugging remorselessly at the heart strings, A Model Life is plainly the most honest and vulnerable Lonely Robot record to date. From opener Recalibrating, which muses on the aftermath of a broken relationship, and Digital God Machine – a sardonic tribute to keyboard warriors everywhere, to the boys-don’t-cry pathos of Rain Kings and the absurdly moving, adoption-themed Duty Of Care, these new songs provide a scattershot but profoundly emotional soundtrack to a restless and uncertain world.

John comments: “Making ‘A Model Life’ was very much a lifeline and indeed wake up call at the end of a particularly personally challenging couple of years. Creating it made me realise that ultimately, life is impermanent and the one true thing that gives me a focus and anchor is and has always been music. Long may that be the case.”

The full track-listing is as follows:
1. Recalibrating 00:05:02
2. Digital God Machine 00:06:08
3. Species In Transition 00:06:19
4. Starlit Stardust 00:05:48
5. The Island Of Misfit Toys 00:04:18
6. A Model Life 00:05:27
7. Mandalay 00:01:56
8. Rain Kings 00:06:33
9. Duty Of Care 00:06:24
10. In Memoriam 00:05:53

The album will be available as Limited CD Digipak, Gatefold 2LP+CD & as Digital Album, with pre-orders starting on June 24th.

1 comment

Support The Prog Report

If you like what we do please support us on Ko-fi


Subscribe to our email list: