Album Spotlight: Jelly Jam – Profit

The new album by Ty Tabor, John Myung and Rod Morgenstein

The Jelly Jam, the group comprised of Ty Tabor (King’s X), Rod Morgenstein (Winger/Dixie Dregs) and John Myung (Dream Theater) are back with a brand new album called ‘Profit.’ It is the band’s first album since 2011’s ‘We Shall Descend’ which came after a 7 hear hiatus.

The album features the band’s brooding, blues-based rock.  It is not as much of a Prog outfit as their other group’s might be but there is still some great playing on here such as on the demonic “Mr. Man.” The album’s first single “Care” shows the band taking a commercial approach while the follow up “Water” hits the group’s bluesy sweet spot.

Much of the album finds the band riding the same musical vibe with a few twists periodically, but there is a unifying theme throughout both lyrically and musically that makes this an interesting listen.

Check out the video for “Water” here.

“Profit” track listing:

01. Care
02. Stain On The Sun
03. Water
04. Stop
05. Perfect Lines (Flyin’)
06. Mr. Man
07. Memphis
08. Ghost Town
09. Heaven
10. Permanent Hold
11. Fallen
12. Strong Belief

Upcoming Releases

Jan 12th – Kayak – Seventeen
Jan 12th – Joe Satriani – What Happens Next
Jan 19th – Perfect Beings – Vier
Jan 26th – Steve Hackett – Wuthering Nights: Live in Birmingham
Feb 16th – Neal Morse – Life & Times
Feb 23rd – Gleb Koloyadin – S/T