Neal Morse announces new album ‘The Restoration – Joseph: Part Two’ and new single “Cosmic Mess”

Hear “Cosmic Mess”, the First Track from Neal Morse’s The Restoration – Joseph: Part Two

Just a few months after releasing ‘The Dreamer – Joseph, Part One’, the ever-prolific Neal Morse. is back with the sequel, ‘The Restoration – Joseph: Part Two’. And with the announcement comes the first single from the album, “Cosmic Mess” which you check out in a video by Christian  Rios here:

Neal has this to say: “So…. The Dreamer – Joseph: Part One’ concluded with Joseph unjustly imprisoned. In ‘The Restoration – Joseph: Part Two,’ the biblical narrative unfolds, chronicling how Joseph’s wisdom and intelligence led him to become the viceroy of Egypt and, to the eventual reunion with his family.

The second installment in the Joseph story shocked me! I wish you could hear the development… Where it started to where it ended up! Pretty crazy, how it all developed largely with the help of other artists. I won’t get into naming names because I would have to name all of them, but friends and brothers (literally!) really brought a lot to the table on this one and I am absolutely thrilled with the way ‘The Restoration’ turned out. I hope you guys love it as much as I loved making it!

So you’ll hear: Nick D’Virgilio (Big Big Train, Spock’s Beard), Ted Leonard (Spock’s Beard, Pattern Seeking Animals), Matt Smith (Theocracy), Ross Jennings (Haken), Jake Livgren (Proto-Kaw, Kansas) and Alan Morse (Spock’s Beard), plus members of NMB, Bill Hubauer and Eric Gillette, among others.”

Commenting on the new single, NEAL had this to say:

“It doesn’t sound like it, but ‘Cosmic Mess’ was written on the piano. I think it was toward the end of the writing process on Joseph, and I was thinking it would be good to have another prologue sort of song. One of my main takeaways from the Joseph story is that it was necessary for all the terrible things to happen to Joseph to put him at the right hand of pharaoh, so that he could feed/save the whole world and be reunited with his family. So that’s what I am singing about in the chorus… The darkness must come in order for the light to fully show up. Anyway, I played all the instruments on this, including the drums, and had a fine time doing it.”

Pre-order here:

The Restoration – Joseph: Part Two Track List:
1. Cosmic Mess
2. My Dream
3. Dreamer in the Jailhouse
4. All Hail
5. The Argument
6. Make Like a Breeze
7. Overture Reprise
8. I Hate My Brothers
9. Guilty as Charged
10. Reckoning
11. Bring Ben
12. Freedom Road
13. The Brothers Repent / Joseph Revealed
14. The Restoration
15. Everlasting
16. Dawning of a New Day (God Uses Everything for Good)

Support The Prog Report

If you like what we do please support us on Ko-fi


Subscribe to our email list: