Fates Warning announces new album ‘Long Day Good Night’; hear new single “Scars”

Long Day Good Night will be out on Metal Blade on Nov. 6th. 

Prog metal pioneers Fates Warning will be releasing their new album ‘Long Day Good Night’ on Nov, 6th, via Metal Blade Records.  The band have released the audio for the first single “Scars”, which you can hear below.

Long Day Good Night also features guest appearances from touring guitarist Mike Abdow, who contributed some solos, plus Porcupine Tree/The Pineapple Thief drummer Gavin Harrison plays on When Snow Falls while Under The Sun sees the band incorporating a full string section for the first time.


“Like all albums, nothing comes easy,” says singer Ray Alder, who began writing the new album with guitarist Jim Matheos back in 2019. “It’s quite a process to go from the idea to the actual finished song. Sometimes you think you’re done with it, then you hear something else and you have to try that. Sometimes it works and sometimes it doesn’t, but you at least have to try it just so you know that in the end you’ve done everything possible to make it as good as it can be.

“Jim and I spent practically every day for the last year writing this album. I am very happy with the outcome, and with the blend of styles. I guess I could say that this album represents all of the years that we have been together.”

1. The Destination Onward
2. Shuttered World
3. Alone We Walk
4. Now Comes the Rain
5. The Way Home
6. Under the Sun
7. Scars
8. Begin Again
9. When Snow Falls
10. Liar
11. Glass Houses
12. The Longest Shadow of the Day
13. The Last Song

Pre-order the album here: https://metalblade.com/fateswarning/

Support The Prog Report

If you like what we do please support us on Ko-fi


Subscribe to our email list: