Evergrey – Theories of Emptiness (Album Review)

Review of the new Evergrey album ‘Theories of Emptiness’

Few prog metal bands have been able to sustain excellence and passion among its fanbase like Sweden’s Evergrey, who recently passed their 30th anniversary as a band. Their latest album and also their 14th studio album Theories of Emptiness further reinforces the band’s penchant for powerful but still melodic music. Following the band’s previous effort, A Heartless Portrait from 2022,’ Theories’ continues along familiar territory but nevertheless is another strong statement for the group.

The album also marks the final recording with the band for drummer Jonas Ekdahlm, who made his official departure at the end of the video for “Say.” Drummer Simen Sandnes (Temic) was recently announced as the band’s new drummer.

There are once again some outstanding fist-pumping tracks kicking off with the opening track “Falling From The Sun” which is the perfect offering as a glimpse of what the band is when it is at its best. The song has a heavy-pounding verses and a brilliant sing-along chorus performed expertly by vocalist and band leader Tom Englund.

Englund’s vocals are a standout feature, carrying a blend of raw emotion and refined technique. His performance on this album reinforces why he remains one of the most compelling vocalists in the progressive metal genre. “Misfortune” is another highlight with a memorable riff and group-chanting chorus.

Many of the songs are what you might consider radio-friendly like the single “Say” which has another killer riff and hooky chorus. “Cold Dreams” is a power ballad featuring guest vocals by Katatonia’s Jonas Renkse. “We Are the North” follows and is among the heavier and more progressive tracks on the album.

Theories of Emptiness is another worthy addition to Evergrey’s impressive discography as the band continues exploring their familiar mix of dark, melodic tunes and deep, thoughtful lyrics. Fans both old and new will find a lot to love in this album, which highlights Evergrey’s ongoing talent and passion for their music.

Released on June 7th, 2024 on Napalm Records

‘Theories of Emptiness’ Track List:
1. Falling From the Sun
2. Misfortune
3. To Become Someone Else
4. Say
5. Ghost of My Hero
6. We Are the North
7. One Heart
8. The Night Within
9. Cold Dreams
10. Our Way Through Silence
11. A Theory of Emptiness

Tom S. Englund / vocals, guitars
Henrik Danhage / guitars
Rikard Zander / keyboards
Johan Niemann / bass
Jonas Ekdahl / drums

‘Theories of Emptiness’ was produced by Tom S. Englund and Jonas Ekdahl, and was mixed by Adam “Nolly” Getgood

Order here: https://www.napalmrecordsamerica.com/evergrey


Support The Prog Report

If you like what we do please support us on Ko-fi


Subscribe to our email list: