Steve Hackett launches ‘Wherever You Are’; second track taken from ‘The Circus and the Nightwhale’

Steve Hackett launches ‘Wherever You Are’; second track taken from ‘The Circus and the Nightwhale’

Legendary rock guitarist Steve Hackett has announced that his new studio album ‘The Circus And The Nightwhale’ will be released on February 16th 2024, via InsideOut Music.

Now a brand new track has been released, the second single titled ‘Wherever You Are’, and you can watch the video now here:


Of the track, Steve comments: “’Wherever You Are’ is a song of love winning through, shattering the chains of the physical world… Light obliterating darkness. A new universe has opened up with the hope that such a strong love could even survive death. The dreams of childhood realised, there is a sense of everything coming around full circle… Even the three part harmony guitar at the end of Genesis’ The Musical Box is revisited in spirit with the joy of celebration during this song.”

‘The Circus And The Nightwhale’ is Steve’s first new music in over two years. It follows the beautiful acoustic LP ‘Under A Mediterranean Sky’ from January 2021 – which rose to No 2 in the UK Classical chart – and, in September of that year, his metallic masterpiece Surrender Of Silence, which hit the UK Top 40. His 2023 live album, ‘Foxtrot At Fifty + Hackett Highlights: Live in Brighton’, reached No 2 in the Rock & Metal Chart. Steve’s new LP promises ballads, blues, blistering progressive rock… and healthy measures of theatre and fantasia.

The new album is available to pre-order on several different formats, including a Limited CD+Blu-ray media book (including 5.1 Surround Sound & 24bit high resolution stereo mixes), Standard CD Jewel case, Gatefold 180g Vinyl LP & as Digital Album. All feature the stunning cover painting by Denise Marsh. Pre-order now here:

The full tracklisting is as follows:
1. People Of The Smoke
2. These Passing Clouds
3. Taking You Down
4. Found And Lost
5. Enter The Ring
6. Get Me Out!
7. Ghost Moon and Living Love
8. Circo Inferno
9. Breakout
10. All At Sea
11. Into The Nightwhale
12. Wherever You Are
13. White Dove

Summing up ‘The Circus And The Nightwhale’, Steve says: “It’s a lovely journey that starts dirty, scratchy and smoky and becomes heavenly and divine. How can you resist it?”

Steve is currently on tour in North America, continuing his ‘Foxtrot At Fifty + Hackett Highlights’ run. Next year he will tour the world extensively, including a brand new UK tour under the name ‘Genesis Greats, Lamb Highlights & Solo’ (that will see him return to the legendary Royal Albert Hall), as well as a return to the US for additional ‘Foxtrot At Fifty’ shows from March 1st through April 13th. For the full list of dates, head to:

Photo credit: Tina Korhonen

Support The Prog Report

If you like what we do please support us on Ko-fi


Subscribe to our email list: