Simon Phillips Interview

Drummer Simon Phillips on the new Sherinian/Phillips Live album, his amazing career & more.

Legendary drummer Simon Phillips talks about the new Sherinian/Phillips Live album, his amazing career, the various projects he’s worked on & more. Sherinian/Phillips Live is out now.
Photo by Rylan Phillips

For the full audio click the podcast link or download the podcast on
Apple · Google· Stitcher · PodBeanSpotify
Subscribe to the podcast to automatically receive future podcast episodes.

You can also subscribe to our YouTube channel

SHERINIAN/PHILLIPS is the musical alliance of Derek Sherinian and Simon Phillips, whose parallel reputations in virtuosic sonic inventions combine on the backdrop of instrumental genre fusion. Though the two had written and recorded together in the past, commitments to other projects had kept them busy in their own circles for a time. Upon their reunion for the recording of 2020’s The Phoenix, the duo has been going strong with consistent new releases ever since. Now, they are pleased to announce the release of SHERINIAN/PHILLIPS LIVE, which exhibits the pair uniting once again for a collaborative effort, documenting a special concert recorded at The Grape in Ventura, California on August 29th, 2022.

1. The Vortex (04:43)
2. Empyrean Sky (04:20)
3. Temple of Helios (06:17)
4. Inertia (04:32)
5. Alpha Burst (04:01)
6. Barnacus (03:32)
7. Seven Seas (05:51)
8. Ascension (02:48)
9. The Phoenix (04:55)
10. Introduction (00:31)
11. Aurora Australis (11:27)

Derek Sherinian (keys/synth)
Simon Phillips (drums)
Ron ‘Bumblefoot’ Thal (guitar)
Ric Fierabracci (bass)

Support The Prog Report

If you like what we do please support us on Ko-fi


Subscribe to our email list: